Articles

My Hometown-Sunam

In Uncategorized on October 20, 2010 by girlsiwise

I was born in a small town Sunam. Sunam is a tehsil, municipality and sub division of the Sangrur District in the Indian State of Punjab. Situated on the Ludhiana-Hisar railway line, it is connected by road with Patiala , Sangrur , Bathinda , Ludhiana , and Chandigarh.
Sunam is the birth place of the famous patriot, Shahid Udham Singh who took the revenge of massacre of innocent Indians by the British on April 13 in 1919 in JALLIAN WALA BAGH in Amritsar by shooting Sir Michael O’Dwyer in Caxton Hall in London on 13 March, 1940 as he was the one who had ordered the shooting of a large and peaceful meeting of the patriots in the Bagh by using machine guns and killed hundreds of them as the garden had just one narrow lane to enter and it was surrounded by walls with no exit gates elsewhere.
My parents wanted me to study in a CBSE school but Sunam does not have any CBSE school so upto 2nd I studied in state board school until I was old enough to go outside and study. After that my parents joined me in a CBSE school that was situated in Ladda, a village between sangrur and dhuri. It took me about one and half hour to go there by school bus. But it was better than my previous school but still this school was just newly opened then. I did my 10th from that school. After that as sunam is just a town with no proper coaching facilities and there was a trend going on my parents followed the trend and send me Kota for IITJEE coaching. In starting I faced much difficulty in adjusting in new environment but my parents support made me adjust soon. But in first attempt I was not selected in JEE as I was much into clearing my 12th. Then I told my parents I want to give one more try and my parents supported my decision and they again sent me to Kota for one year. My parents had full faith in me that I will be selected this time. And this time I was selected and now I am at IIT ropar. For the betterment of my sister’s studies my parents also shifted to Patiala which is bigger and more developed in terms of studies and extracurricular activities during my one year at Kota. I am happy for my sister atleast she will have more opportunities and she will not face what I faced. I want to do MBA next and fulfill all my parents’ dreams.

3 Responses to “My Hometown-Sunam”

  1. […] My Hometown-Sunam – by Ankita Goyal Posted on October 27, 2010 by iwiseiitrpr I was born in a small town Sunam. Sunam is a tehsil, municipality and sub division of the Sangrur District in the Indian State of Punjab. Situated on the Ludhiana-Hisar railway line, it is connected by road with Patiala , Sangrur , Bathinda , Ludhiana , and Chandigarh. Sunam is the birth place of the famous patriot, Shahid Udham Singh who took the revenge of massacre of innocent Indians by the British on April 13 in 1919 in JALLIAN WALA BAGH in A … Read More […]

  2. Your life story is inspiring and i am really glad to know all of your story which makes me feel and makes my believe rigid upon that people like us who are from backward can also excel , out there.Wishing you luck in your future!

  3. Your life story is inspiring and i am really glad to know all of your story which makes me feel and makes my belief rigid upon that people like us who are from backward can also excel , out there.Wishing you luck in your future!

Leave a Reply

